2014

We begin in the Name of God. The Most Gracious. The Most Merciful.
Peace and blessings to you all.
In all honesty, I did not intend to create my blog on the eve of the New Year. It just happened to be so. I’m not one to follow in this whole fad of making resolutions. Resolutions, I find, have no real sustenance. They are just an excuse for which people hide behind in order that they may attain comfort from feeling like utter and complete failures. Where’s the evidence, you may ask? It lies in all the incomplete and broken promises which presents itself on New Years Day when people begin to look back at the previous year and at the list of resolutions they made, but failed to complete. Don’t get me wrong in saying that people never succeed in fulfilling their goals. I can assure you that many people do, and will continue to do so in the coming year. Nor do I believe that people, when making resolutions, have ill intentions. I am only presenting the reality of which many find themselves in. I believe that resolutions should be made in modifying pre-existing goals, and progressing your vision further from previous years. People should never be at a point in their lives where they aren’t working towards something. Rather, they should always be in a state of progression and modification.

Moving a bit away from the subject of resolutions, I have created this blog for many reasons. Apart from my love of writing, I feel that words and thought are the weapons of change. And so, as we begin to move into a time where injustice and corruption is rampant, I feel that it is my duty-as both a human and a follower of Islam- to bring to light issues affecting those who, themselves, cannot speak out. I hope to use this blog to awaken the consciousness of those who are asleep. As well as, keep me in line and moving towards bettering myself as a human being. Anything that I say which is good is from God. I pray that anyone who reads my blog leaves having benefited from it. If you ever feel offended by what I say, I ask for your forgiveness, unless it is something of truth-for which I will stand my ground. I won’t always speak in a formal tone. My tone will reflect the mood that I’m in. If you knew me in real life, you could say that I’m a pretty care-free, down to earth, awkwardly funny person. Which you will soon come to know in my writing and as we progress through our journey.

I look forwards to sharing my thoughts with you all.
Till then,
Salaam.

A.

Leave a Reply

